Bureau of Economic Geology

Bureau Director and Senior Researchers Honored by AAPG

June 22, 2016
Scott Tinker receives Halbouty award

Bureau Director Scott W. Tinker (right) receives the Michel T. Halbouty Outstanding Leadership Award from AAPG President John R. Hogg

The American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG) has honored Scott W. Tinker, director of the Bureau of Economic Geology, with its Michel T. Halbouty Outstanding Leadership Award. This prestigious award—the second highest honor given by the AAPG—recognizes those who have demonstrated exceptional leadership and extraordinary service to the petroleum geosciences and the association. The award was presented to Tinker at the AAPG Annual Meeting in Calgary on June 19.

“I was stunned when AAPG president Hogg called with the news,” Tinker said. “I deeply appreciate those whose mentorship and support have allowed me to grow and make what I do possible. I would also like to recognize and thank the tremendous team at the Bureau. I work with the best people in the field. I feel extremely fortunate to be a part of such a talented group.”

The AAPG also recognized two Bureau scientists with its Distinguished Service Award, presented to members who have distinguished themselves in singular and beneficial long-term service to the AAPG.

Recipient Stephen E. Laubach, Bureau senior research scientist and leader of its fracture and structural diagenesis programs, has served on the AAPG Executive Committee and was AAPG Elected Editor from July 2010 to July 2013. During his time of service, he helped found the AAPG’s Petroleum Structure and Geomechanics Division; was involved in helping launch the new joint AAPG–SEG journal, Interpretation; founded, in 2012, the AAPG Charles H. Taylor Fellowship in support of scientific publishing; restructured the AAPG Bulletin’s Editorial Board; founded the AAPG Books Editorial Board; and instituted the AAPG Bulletin’s online Ahead of Print publishing and Notable Papers recognition.

Stephen Laubach and Peter Hennings receive AAPG awards

Stephen Laubach (left) and Peter Hennings (right) receive Distinguished Service Awards from AAPG President John R. Hogg

Recipient Peter H. Hennings, Bureau research scientist and co-PI of its Center for Integrated Seismicity Research, was recognized for his leadership and enthusiasm in the fields of petroleum structural geology and geomechanics, and for his dedication to applied research and teaching. He has greatly assisted the AAPG in its science and outreach mission, especially as it pertains to his discipline area, and has served in numerous leadership capacities for the Association and received a series of its accolades over the years.

Please join us in congratulating these distinguished geoscientists!