Bureau Researchers Honored for Groundbreaking Research at GeoGulf ‘24

April 25, 2024
Dr. Shuvajit Bhattacharya receives award

Bureau Researcher Dr. Shuvajit Bhattacharya receives the A.I. Levorsen Award for 2023 Best Oral Presentation from presenter and AAPG Foundation Executive Director, David Curtiss.

At the GeoGulf ’24 Conference, which was recently held in San Antonio, Bureau researchers Drs. Shuvajit Bhattacharya, Bob Loucks, and Rob Reed were presented with awards for their outstanding work.

Bhattacharya and his collaborator, Sumit Verma, University of Texas Permian Basin, won the Gulf Coast Section’s A.I. Levorsen Memorial Award in the Best Oral Presentation category for their 2023 conference presentation, “Seismic attributes for deep water depositional systems.”

Loucks and Reed received the President’s Award for Outstanding Paper in the GCAGS Journal, Volume 12 (2023) for their paper, “Volcanic origin and significance of glauconite grains in the Upper Cretaceous Austin Chalk Formation in the Balcones Igneous Province, South and Central Texas.” (Full article available at http://doi.org/10.62371/IIWU2066.)

On LinkedIn, Bhattacharya posted, “Thank you to the AAPG Gulf Coast Section for this recognition and to everyone who has supported our work in this field.” He added that he looks forward “to continuing research and expanding our knowledge at the exciting intersection of seismic and machine learning in subsurface exploration.”

Drs. Bob Loucks and Rob Reed accept the President’s Award

Bureau Researchers Drs. Bob Loucks and Rob Reed accept the President’s Award for Outstanding Paper, presented by Mike Erpenbeck, GCAGS Interim Executive Director.

© 2021 Bureau of Economic Geology | Web Privacy Policy | Web Accessibility Policy