University of Texas at Austin

Visiting Committee

The Visiting Committee of the BEG provides vital counsel and advice to the Director and staff of the Bureau with regard to research programs, research opportunities, strategic directions, and other significant issues.

Members of the Visiting Committee include:

Mr. Bud Scherr, Chair (since Aug '11) 
Chief Executive Officer 
Valence Operating Company

Mr. Scott Anderson 
Senior Policy Director
US Climate and Energy Program
Environmental Defense Fund

Mr. Bud Brigham 
Chief Executive Officer 
Anthem Ventures

Mr. Tim Brittan 
Infinity Oil & Gas, Inc. 

Commissioner George P. Bush
Texas Land Commissioner
Texas General Land Office

Commissioner Christi Craddick
Railroad Commission of Texas

Mr. Dan Domeracki
VP, Government and Industry Relations
Schlumberger Ltd

Mr. James (Jim) W. Farnsworth 
Chief Exploration Officer 
Cobalt International Energy, LP

Mr. John W. Gibson, Jr.
Omega Oaks

Ms. Marilu Hastings
Vice President of Sustainability Programs
Cynthia and George Mitchell Foundation

The Honorable Glenn Hegar
Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts

Mr. Mark A. Houser
Chief Executive Officer
University Lands

Mr. C. Michael (Mike) Ming
General Manager
Oil & Gas Technology Center
GE Global Research

Commissioner Jon Niermann
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality

Mr. Dick Stoneburner
Managing Director
Pine Brook Partners

Dr. Charles (Chuck) R. Williamson 
Lead Director
Weyerhaeuser Co. & Paccar