Bureau, Fomel Honored by Society of Exploration Geophysicists

October 26, 2018
Sergey Fomel accepts SEG award

On behalf of the Bureau, Sergey Fomel receives the Distinguished Achievement Award from SEG Past-President Nancy Jo House.

The Society of Exploration Geophysicists (SEG) recently honored the Bureau of Economic Geology with its Distinguished Achievement Award at its Annual Meeting 2018 in Anaheim, California. From the meeting proceedings:

"The Bureau of Economic Geology is an ideal recipient for SEG’s Distinguished Achievement Award for several notable contributions, including: (1) earliest recognition of reflection seismology and seismic stratigraphy concepts; (2) transferring 3D seismic technology to independent producers; (3) public release of 3D digital seismic data sets; (4) managing the Devine Geophysical Test Site; (5) establishing a robust program for educating K–12 students in the geosciences; (6) running the largest U.S. subsurface core repository system; and (7) developing and managing TexNet, Texas’ statewide seismological array. The list of SEG offices, awards, and honors distributed among several notable BEG researchers is testimony that, as a collective group, Bureau geophysicists have made invaluable contributions to the SEG."

Also recognized at the SEG Annual Meeting were Rui Zhang, assistant professor at University of Louisiana at Lafayette, and the Bureau’s Sergey Fomel for the “Best Paper in Interpretation in 2017” for “Time-variant wavelet extraction with a local-attribute-based time-frequency decomposition for seismic inversion.” Interpretation is co-published by the SEG and the American Association of Petroleum Geologists.