University of Texas at Austin

Young Honored with 2017 Joseph C. Walter Jr. Excellence Award

January 4, 2018
Michael H. Young

Bureau Associate Director Michael H. Young

Bureau of Economic Geology associate director (Environmental Division) Michael H. Young was honored by UT’s Jackson School of Geosciences (JSG) with the 2017 Joseph C. Walter Jr. Excellence Award in late December. The Walter Award—the highest honor that the JSG bestows on faculty members and research scientists each year—recognizes demonstrated excellence in any or all of the areas of the school: research, teaching, service, professional activity, and administration.

During her presentation of the award, JSG dean Sharon Mosher acknowledged Young’s contributions to the school: “Michael has advanced the Bureau’s environmental group to new heights and is recognized internationally for his research in soil science. His administrative and research work have truly enhanced the reputation of the Bureau and the Jackson School. His work ethic is inspiring. As associate director, he has helped lead large research programs like the Texas Soil Observation Network, the use of airborne lidar for high-resolution terrestrial scanning and 3D geological mapping programs, and the TexNet seismic monitoring program. He's a diligent administrator,” Mosher added, “yet his research is equally outstanding. He deserves special recognition from the school for his successes in making geoscience serve humanity.”