Bureau of Economic Geology

Visiting Committee

Leaders from Texas state government, industry decision makers, and major supporters gathered in August for the annual meeting of the Bureau’s Visiting Committee, which provides vital counsel to the directorate and staff of the Bureau regarding research programs and opportunities, strategic direction, and other significant issues that help shape the future direction of Bureau research.

Discussion topics this year included the Bureau’s impact on future industry challenges, how the Bureau can ramp up its utilization of “big data” and coming computer advances, and issues surrounding the use and re-use of water in hydrocarbon production. Bureau researchers and directors reported on several major initiatives, including the earthquake monitoring and mitigation program of the TexNet/Center for Integrated Seismicity Research; ongoing research into water resources; the launch of the new 3D Resource Reserve and Production research consortium; and land assessment using lidar and other technological capabilities of the Bureau’s Environmental Division. To learn more, visit: https://www.beg.utexas.edu/people/visiting-committee .

Visiting Committee

From left to right: John Gibson (Disruptive Technology), Mike Ming (Baker Hughes), George P. Bush (Texas Land Commissioner), Jim Farnsworth (Cobalt International Energy), Bud Scherr (Valence Operating Co.), Scott Anderson (U.S. Climate and Energy Program), Phillip Ashley (representing Glenn Hegar, Texas Comptroller), Claudia Hackbarth (Shell), Mark Houser (University Lands), Chuck Williamson (Weyerhaeuser Co. & Paccar), Dick Stoneburner (Pine Brook Partners), Christi Craddick (Railroad Commission of Texas), Jon Niermann (Texas Commission on Environmental Quality), Carol Lloyd (Exxon Mobil), Scott W. Tinker (Bureau Director), and Dan Domeracki (Schlumberger).

University of Texas at Austin

University of Texas

© 2021 Bureau of Economic Geology | Web Privacy Policy | Web Accessibility Policy