The 17th International Workshop on Seismic Anisotropy (17IWSA) was held at Horseshoe Bay, Texas, September 18-23, 2016. The IWSA returned to the USA for the first time in the eight years. The workshop was organized by the Jackson School of Geosciences at The University of Texas at Austin.

Study of seismic anisotropy plays an increasingly important role in application to fracture characterization of unconventional reservoirs as well as in many other areas of seismic exploration and earthquake seismology. The focus of the workshop was the development of better understanding of seismic anisotropy in the Earth and the development of practical methods for seismic data processing, imaging, and inversion in the presence of anisotropy.

Downwload: Compilation of 17IWSA Expanded Abstracts [PDF]

Suggested topics

  • Rock physics of anisotropic media
  • Reflection and refraction seismic in anisotropic media
  • Passive seismic in anisotropic media
  • Borehole geophysics and VSP in anisotropic media
  • S-wave anisotropy
  • Surface-wave anisotropy
  • Seismic data processing and imaging in anisotropic media
  • Seismic fracture detection and parameter estimation in azimuthally-anisotropic unconventional reservoirs
  • Forward modeling in anisotropic media
  • Full waveform inversion in anisotropic media
    Important dates:

    February 15, 2016 - registration opens
    April 15, 2016 - abstract submission opens
    June 30, 2016 - abstract submission deadline
    September 15, 2016 - registration deadline
    Local Organizing Committee:

    Sergey Fomel (UT Austin), chair of the Local Organizing Committee
    Vladimir Grechka (Marathon Oil), chair of the Technical Program Committee
    Colin Sayers (Schlumberger)
    Mrinal Sen (UT Austin)
    Kyle Spikes (UT Austin)
    Leon Thomsen (Delta Geophysics)
    Technical Program Committee:

    Andrej Bona (Curtin University)
    Dirk Gajewski
    (University of Hamburg)
    Vladimir Grechka
    (Marathon Oil)
    Ivan Pšencík (Czech Academy of Sciences)
    Michael Ritzwoller (University of Colorado at Boulder)
    Mrinal Sen (University of Texas at Austin)
    Alexey Stovas (Norwegian University of Science and Technology)
    Ilya Tsvankin (Colorado School of Mines)


    The 17IWSA Workshop is sponsored by the Jackson School of Geosciences at UT Austin, PGS, Schlumberger, and the Society of Exploration Geophysicists (SEG).


    For questions regarding this workshop, please contact:

    Sergey Fomel
    Horseshoe Bay Resort on Lake LBJ
    Horseshoe Bay Resort on Lake LBJ