The Bureau of Economic Geology The University of Texas at Austin Jackson School of Geosciences
  Media contacts

The Visiting Committee of the BEG provides vital counsel and advice to the Director and staff of the Bureau with regard to research programs, research opportunities, strategic directions, and other significant issues. Members of the Visiting Committee include:


Mr. Bud Scherr, Chair (since August 2011)
Chief Executive Officer
Valence Operating Company

Ms. Annell R. Bay
Vice President, Global Exploration
Marathon Oil Company

Mr. Bud Brigham
Chief Executive Officer
Anthem Ventures

Mr. Tim Brittan
Infinity Oil & Gas, Inc.

Ms. Melanie L. Callahan, CPA
Executive Administrator
Texas Water Development Board

The Honorable Susan Combs
Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts

Mr. Zak Covar
Executive Director
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality


Mr. James (Jim) W. Farnsworth
Chief Exploration Officer
Cobalt International Energy, LP

Mr. John Gibson
Chief Executive Officer
Tervita Corporation

Mr. C. Michael (Mike) Ming
General Manager, Oil & Gas Technology Center
GE Global Research

The Honorable Jerry Patterson
Texas Land Commissioner
Texas General Land Office

The Honorable Mr. Barry T. Smitherman
Railroad Commission of Texas

Dr. Charles (Chuck) R. Williamson
Weyerhaeuser Co. and Talisman Energy

The University of Texas
Contact information
Maps and Directions
Media Contacts
Employment Opportunities
Bureau Reports
Institute for Geophysics Department of Geological Sciences
©2010 Bureau of Economic Geology, The University of Texas at Austin