Quantitative Clastics Laboratory

Staff

Research Staff

Research Interests:

  • Clastic sedimentology & stratigraphy
  • Deep-water depositional systems
  • Continental-margin sedimentation
  • Source-to-sink sediment routing
  • Marine geology & paleoceanography
  • Geomorphology
  • Geochronology
  • Field geology
Jake Covault

Jacob Covault

Principal Investigator
Research Scientist

Phone: (512) 475-9506
JSG Profile

E-mail: jake.covault@beg.utexas.edu

Research Interests:

  • Clastic sedimentology
  • Fluvial sedimentology
  • Paleopedology
  • Ichnology
  • Paleoenvironmental reconstruction of continental to shallow-marine systems
  • North Slope—Alaska
  • Cretaceous Western Interior Seaway of North America
  • Central Transantarctic Mountains-Antarctica
  • Canada
  • Photography and high-resolution imagery (e.g. LiDAR, GigaPan) of clastic systems
  • Remote logistics
Peter Flaig

Peter Flaig

Principal Investigator
Research Associate, Sedimentologist/Stratigrapher

Phone: (512) 471-9622
JSG Profile

E-mail: peter.flaig@beg.utexas.edu

 

 

Dallas Dunlap

Interpreter, Visualization Specialist

Phone: (512) 475-6184
JSG Profile

E-mail: dallas.dunlap@beg.utexas.edu

Collaborating Researchers

 

 

Lorena Moscardelli

Lorena Moscardelli

Research Fellow

Phone: (512) 471-1534

E-mail: lorena.moscardelli@gmail.com

 

 

Dr. Ron Steel

Ronald Steel

UT Jackson School of Geosciences
Davis Centennial Chair and Professor

Phone: (512) 471-5172

E-mail: rsteel@jsg.utexas.edu

 

 

Stephen Hasiotis

Phone: (785) 864-4941)

E-mail: hasiotis@ku.edu

 

 

Bill Ambrose

Interpreter, Field Studies

Phone: (512) 471-0258

E-mail: william.ambrose@beg.utexas.edu

 

 

David Mohrig

UT Jackson School of Geosciences
Professor, Dept. of Geosciences

Phone: (512) 471-2282

E-mail: mohrig@jsg.utexas.edu

 

Darrin Burton

Darrin Burton

Post-Doctoral Research Fellow

E-mail:
darrinburton@hotmail.com

Current Graduate Researchers

Working title: A Comparative Analysis of the of Paleoenvironments and Architectures in the Anchor Mine Tongue of the Sego Formation in the Book Cliffs and Temporally-Equivalent Strata in the Rangley Area of Colorado

cardona

Rebecca Jones

M.S.

Working title: Identifying the Nature and Extent of the Loyd Sandstone Member of the Mancos Shale in Outcrop and Subsurface Data in the Rangley Area of Colorado

Prather

Tim Prather

M.S.

E-mail: timothy.h.prather@utexas.edu

 

Dolores van der Kolk

Dolores van der Kolk

Ph.D. Candidate

E-mail: dvdk@utexas.edu

Former Graduate Students

Dissertation: The Southeastern Caribbean Subduction to Strike-slip Transition Zone: A Study of the Effects on Lithospheric Structures and Overlying Clastic Basin Evolution and Fill

Tricia Alvarez

Tricia Alvarez

Ph.D.

 

 

Arora

Khushboo Arora

Ph.D. Candidate

E-mail:
khushbooarora@utexas.edu

Thesis: Toward an accurate reservoir model of heterolithic, tidally-influenced deposits: An ongoing case study in the Sego Sandstone member of the Mancos Shale through second-generation, outcrop-to-subsurface 3-D modeling

Bunn

Stevenson Bunn

M.S.

E-mail: stevenson.bunn@gmail.com

Dissertation: Geologically-based Permeability Anisotropy Estimates for Tidally-influenced Reservoir Analogs Using Lidar-derived, Quantitative Shale Character Data

Darrin Burton

Darrin Burton

Ph.D.

E-mail: darrinburton@hotmail.com

 

Terence Campbell

 

Nysha Chaderton

Nysha Chaderton

Ph.D.

 

Anmar Davila

Anmar Davila-Chacon

 

awaiting photo

Elisa Crooks

 

Mohammed Fachmi

Jed Flint

Emilio Garciacaro

Tiffany Hedayati

Tiffany Hedayati

Huang Jie

Huang Jie

 

Brian Kiel

Brian Kiel

Ph.D. Candidate

E-mail: brian.a.kiel@gmail.com

Tom Lovitz

Tom Lovitz

Vishal Maharaj

Vishal Maharaj

Julie Maher

Kristine Mize

Jessica Morgan

Jessica Morgan

Lorena Moscardelli

 

Maria Prieto

Maria Prieto

Ph.D. Candidate

E-mail: miprieto@utexas.edu

Sonya Punch

Stefan Punnette

Stefan Punnette

awaiting photo

Sarika Ramnarine

Carla Sanchez

Kadira Singh

Kadira Singh

M. David Soto

Chad Weisenburger

K Woolfe

Kurtus Woolf

Support Staff

Aaron Averett

Phone: (512) 475-9551

E-mail: aaron.averett@beg.utexas.edu

Paula Beard

Webmaster for QCL IA

Phone: (512) 475-9580

E-mail: paula.beard@beg.utexas.edu

Anselmo Jacobo

Phone: (512) 471-3512

E-mail: anselmo.jacobo@beg.utexas.edu

© Bureau of Economic Geology, The University of Texas at Austin, All Rights Reserved
BEG link UT link QCL link JSG link